2012 Lean Reading Update

Earlier this year, I posted a blog about not reading any lean or business books this year.  Choosing to spend the year putting into practice more of what I have read already and trying to understand how it pertains to my work.  I have been pretty successful so far although I have read three ebooks (1 was a group study at work and 2 I was asked to review).  I still have read one book per month that has not pertained to lean or business.  I thought I would share them with you at my half way point reflection.

JanuaryLone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell – This is the autobiography and recount of the lone survivor of a S.E.A.L. team member that got caught in a fire fight deep in Taliban territory.  It is an amazing story.

February - It’s So Easy by Duff McKagan – The autobiography of Guns-N-Roses bassist Duff McKagan.  GNR is my favorite band of all time.  Duff now writes for ESPN’s Page Two website.  He is a really good writer and the book is a great recount of his life and view of the GNR rise and fall.

March11/22/63 by Stephan King – This a fiction story about a guy who has a chance to go back in time and stop Lee Harvey Oswald from assassinating President Kennedy.  Long book, but very enjoyable.  A fun read.

AprilAmerican Sniper by Chris Kyle – Chris Kyle is a S.E.A.L. sniper that at the time of the writing was credited with the most confirmed kills in American military history.  This is his recount of his time in the S.E.A.L.s.

MayFifth Avenue by Christopher Smith – A thriller novel about two of the most wealthy mean in New York City and the extremes their grudge will go to.  Good book.

JuneLife by Keith Richards – This is the autobiography of Keith Richards the guitar player for the Rolling Stones.  I love the Rolling Stones and I was traveling the the UK for work…seemed like a good fit to read at the time.

I think the list gives a little flavor of my interests.

Here are the three ebooks I have read for work during this time:

What have you been reading this year?

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Manufacturing, Misc, Problem Solving and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks Matt! I enjoyed reading about your other interests and added a few of the books to my Goodreads to-read list.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,252 other followers

