Visual Management at the Airport

While taking the tram across the airport to meet my connecting flight, my buddy and I saw this easy visual management for the flow of people on and off the tram connecting the terminals.  My buddy said I should take a picture for my blog so here it is.

Simple and easy to read.  There is a clear message, but it is not a visual control.  It is a visual indicator.  A control would prevent people from walking “in” through the “out” path.  An indicator shows what should be done but can be disregarded.

What you can’t see in the picture is the man standing right in front of the “out” path.  As the doors opened, he walked “in” through the “out” path.  He struggled to get on the tram while my buddy and I got on with no issues.  Amazing what can happen when you follow the visual indicators.

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Communication, Tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,252 other followers

