First Post

Over the past 10+ years I have been learning about lean while implementing and coaching others.  Along the way I have learned a lot from the many successes and failures that I have endured.  I have enjoyed every minute of it even though there are times when I want to beat my head against the wall.  Once I step back and reflect on why I am beating my head against the wall, I see it as an opportunity to change and improve.  Continuous learning is what I want to do.  Learn something new everyday and I will be growing and helping my company become more successful.

I not only learn from my implementations, but also from reading and education.  Over the years, I have become a regular reader of a few blogs like the Lean Blog, Evolving Excellence, Jamie Flinchbaugh, and All Things Workplace.  These blogs, as well as others, have helped me to grow in my understanding of lean.  You might see their influences in my blog writing.

I have multiple purposes for this blog.  One hope is to be able to spur reflection and thought in others the way other blogs have done for me.  I want others to understand lean and help dis-spell some of the myths and misunderstandings.

This blog also is meant as a way for me to continue to learn and grow.   I want others to post comments and challenge my thinking and create good dialogue.  Also, I want to grow in my written communication skills.  I’m an engineer by trade and if it isn’t numbers, then I am not the best at getting it down clearly and concisely.   Finally, I want to force deeper reflection on lean and how I see lean in the world around me.  I tried working on these by guest blogging at the Lean Blog, but I had no accountability so I did it a couple of times and then made excuses as to why I didn’t have time.  Having my own blog will hold me accountable for reflecting and working on my written communication skills.

I plan on posting a couple of blogs a week to get started.  I hope I can meet the goals and purposes that I want from the blog.  Please do not hesitate to send me feedback about the site, my writing, or anything else that is on your mind.

Let the fun begin!

Share

Posted on May 13, 2010, in Other and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Welcome to the lean blogosphere!!

    Mark

  2. Wow, Mark beat me to it. Welcome, and we look forward to your contributions.

    Jamie F

  3. Thanks. I am looking forward to contributing.

  4. Welcome Matt. Looking forward to reading your posts.

    Tim

  5. Looking forward to your future posts…welcome to the lean community!

    – 2LP

  6. Looking forward to your thoughts. Have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,103 other followers

