Beyond Lean Joins Twitter

For the last couple of years I have fought social media.  That is the total “Old School” in me.  As a lean practitioner I always talk about creating a learning environment with the people I work with.  So to practice what I preach last May I started this blog.  To my surprise I have really enjoyed it.  It has been a real learning experience.

My next learning experience will be with Twitter.  It is quite new to me and to be honest, I’m a little intimidated by it.  All the symbols and retweets and follows and what not.  So, look me up when on Twitter and be patient with me.

Posted on February 16, 2011, in Learning, Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi Matt – I was glad to see you on Twitter — I too felt I “had” to get on it, especially after being asked to lead the AME Social Media Council. It’s hard to judge its value – anywhere from trivial to potentially very powerful. For now the thing is to jump in the water, follow enough people so you can observe what they do, and make a lot of small mistakes rapidly. Just tell us what you’re doing and how you feel about it — since you are actually out with teams making improvements, your doings will be much more valuable and interesting than those of us who only sit and watch.

    PS – this is a call for more lean leaders to start with Twitter. If a few consultants and companies use it for self promotion, it’s a waste. If very large numbers of practitioners and leaders build relationships through it, we have the power to change the world.

  2. PS – My Twitter name is @leanreflect.

  3. Welcome to twitter…but don’t lose the old school values. Social media is great, but its less important than real engagement with people.

  4. Jamie is right. Yet, Twitter can help the real engagement when you escalate it to a face-to-face meeting. I’ve met Twitter friends for coffee, or arranged a meetup at a conference. It’s easier to introduce yourself when you can say, “Oh, I know you from Twitter…”

    • I agree. I am so old school sometimes that I probably look like a grandpa. Twitter I hope will help me expand my networking circle and allow me to reach out and learn from people I didn’t know were out there.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Beyond Lean Joins Twitter « Beyond Lean -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

