Comments Are Important

I have been reading blogs for several years.  Now as a blog writer, I have come to appreciate the comment section.

In the past, I didn’t read the comments.  There was no reason for it.  I just didn’t take the time.  Now I understand the importance the comments can bring to a discussion.

The comments can be used to disagree with a point of view and bring a new perspective.  They can be used to clarify and add points to a discussion.  The more comments a post has the better the indication the topic was something that was important to the audience.

Great conversations and input happen in the comment section.  There are so many readers that have great points of view, but don’t have an outlet to be heard.  The comments provide an outlet.

Thanks to everyone that has commented and I look forward to more comments and discussions moving forward.

Posted on April 6, 2011, in Customer Focus, Engagment, Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I always enjoy reading the comments of others who read the same blogs I do. One aspect that helps me is to realize that I am not the only one who struggles to continue to implement Lean concepts and to help my company in our Lean transformation. Sometimes it seems that I am alone, but when I read what others have to say, I take comfort that it is not just me. Also, I have taken away many good ideas from the comments. We can all learn from each other as we walk the Lean journey.

    • Thanks, Dale. One of the reasons I started the blog was to show that we aren’t alone in trying to implement lean. I know I felt that way too and didn’t want others to feel like they were going at it alone. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Hi Matt,
    When I first started blogging, I made the same discovery as you when it came to comments. I also learned that some of the same people commented regularly – if not frequently – and that led to some great professional relationships. Blogs create learning communities.

  3. I’ve had a number of instances I can recall where I’ve learned as much or more from the comments as I have from a post itself. I give a lot of credit to the blogs I surf for the development of my lean thinking.

  4. Matt,

    Very true. I’ve grown to appreciate the comments much more as a blogger as well. It’s fun to get involved in a good discussion on a blog or a LinkedIn discussion thread. Thanks for blogging.

    Chris

  5. Even before I started blogging, I loved reading the comments. So many of them expand on the blog, offer other insight (or disagreement, usually respectful) and have helped me clarify my thoughts.

    As a blogger, I love knowing that someone is actually reading my stuff!

    Nancy
    http://dogear6.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

