Influencing Through Role Modeling

For the last couple of weeks I have debated whether I should write this post or not.  I feel the topic of role modeling is important but writing about myself in this manner seems arrogant.  The topic won out and I decided to write the post.  Please understand my intent is to illustrate how role modeling can influence people, not brag or pat myself on my back.

Over the last few months, I have posted blogs about my own continuous improvement that have been inspired by others.  Some of the topics have been reflection, stand-up desk, and personal kanban (here and here).  I tried some of these things out to improve and change my work.  I didn’t realize it at the time but I was role modeling behaviors of continuous improvement that others at work were noticing.

People started asking me about things I was trying out.  It wasn’t long before I noticed a couple of more people with stand-up desks.  Then others with personal kanban boards being tried.  Lastly, seeing others doing more reflection at the end of meetings or at the end of the week.

It felt good to see others trying new things because of what they saw me doing.  My intent wasn’t to change others but to improve my own work.  As I did, others picked up on it little by little and started trying some of the same things.

It re-enforced the need to always be aware of my actions because you never know who is watching and will pick up on them.  As leaders, we want to send the right message.

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Engagment, Leadership, My Continuous Improvement, Tools and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Matt,

    Leadership by example is a very important trait for leaders. People are watching and they will see if a leader’s actions are consistent with his words. Talk is cheap. Leaders must model the behavior. This is a good example of being a good example.

    Being a role model is closely linked with self-discipline. Here’s a post on the topic: http://wp.me/pZiRD-d9

    Thanks for being a role model in your plant and for sharing.

    Chris

  2. This is why it is so important to lead by example as your actions speak louder than your words. Those of us with already know this. It is easier to see yourself as a role model for instance coaching kids but not as easy I guess in coaching at work. Like they say you can’t be a leader without followers.

    Nice post Matt. I can relate to this very well.

Leave a Reply

