No More Lean Reading!

I have decided to try something different for 2012.  I am not going to read a single lean or leadership book for the entire year.  I read my first book on lean and/or leadership about 5 years ago.  The Hitchhker’s Guide to Lean by Jamie Flinchbaugh and Andy Carlino was a gift to me as I left one job for another.  Being the avid learner, I was hooked.  I kept reading more and more books on lean.   As I’m sure many of yours are, my completed reading list on lean and leadership is a mile long.

So why stop reading books on the subject this year?

Not because of burn out or because I want to stop learning.  On the contrary, I want to learn but by putting more of what I have read into practice.

I have used some of what I have read over the years when the time was right, but recently I seem to have read so much especially about leadership and lean that I am jumping from on thing to another without giving anything a serious try.  This year is going to be dedicated to trying to put some of what I have learned about into practice without diluting it with more information.

I plan on continuing to read blogs and non-fictional and a few fictional books this year, but my lean book reading will be on hold.

My learning is going to come from doing.  I will have to dig back through some of my books to refresh myself and I am looking forward to that.  I am looking forward to the challenge and seeing the results.

Is there anything from your past reading that you want to learn more about?

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Development, Learning, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I seem to be in a similar place as you. As a leader of a small technical training team, I have been mentally applying my new learning more than actually bringing my team involved. This is the year where some real transformation has started to take place. My next learning and application frontier is properly applying various types of A3s along with PDCA. Have a great and exciting year of inevitable learning by doing with further study.

  2. Matt, something that I have done occasionally is to go back to the one or two books that taught me the most about lean. I’m always amazed at how much I see there that I didn’t understand at the time. Maybe because I’m returning to the same context of my original learning, I can see how to take what I know one step further. I can also see that I HAVE learned in the intervening years, and find more avenues to explore further.

    • Karen –

      I agree with your suggestion. I am going back to a couple of books from the past and seeing how I can make sure I am applying the things I learned from them this year. Examine what I am doing well from the books and what I could work on. It should be an interesting experiment.

  3. Totally agree with your suggestion… Very nice post and good information here… Thanks for posting that….

  1. Pingback: Understanding the Learner « Beyond Lean

Leave a Reply

