Lean Lesson from the Book of Proverbs

“The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, But a wise man is he who listens to counsel.”

Proverbs 12:15 (New American Standard Bible)

During service last Sunday, our pastor used this verse during his sermon.  It struck me as a great verse about lean leadership and learning.

Too many times I have seen someone rush in with the answers without asking questions because they believe they have the right way.  Quite honestly, I have done it myself.  That was hard lesson to learn.  And in the end, I did feel like a fool.

Helping someone solve their issue means a person must listen and take counsel in order to learn.  This learning will help provide better teaching to the person that is being helped.  I have found this to be true in my own work.  My help to resolve the current issue  is appreciated and more complete when I deeply understand the current condition through listening and taking counsel from others.

As we lead organizations through lean transformations, it is much better to be seen as wise and not the fool.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Communication, Customer Focus, Learning, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Matt-that is one of those verses that makes me wonder how often I am on the right side of the equation. You illustrate how to apply this to lean leadership well. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

