How Problem Solving and Agile Both Drill Issues Down

I have been learning about agile as of late.  I know how agile has gotten its roots from lean thinking as it is applied to software development.  It has been very interesting and fascinating to learn.

One common thread problem solving and agile have is making it important to break down the issue.

Good problem solving breaks down a large problem into smaller and very manageable problems to solve.

Agile does the same.  It is important to break an epic story (or very large story) down into manageable stories that can be built and tested in 2-3 days.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

This is just one similarity between lean and agile I saw as I was in my class.  Seems simple but it really takes team to master to bet able to break stories and problems down to the appropriate sizes.

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Agile, Problem Solving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good stuff, Mr. Wrye. Hope you are doing well! I still read most of your blogs – and always enjoy.

  1. Pingback: Agile Retrospectives = Reflection | Beyond Lean

Leave a comment